Australian Resident Visa

Australian Resident Visa

The following visas under Australia's General Skilled Migration programme are available for skilled workers wishing to migrate to Australia and apply for permanent resident visa (Australian PR):

Skilled Independent (Points Tested Stream) Visa

This is a permanent resident visa and you can live, work and settle anywhere in Australia. You do not need to be nominated by state or territory government or sponsored by a relative. To qualify you must be

  1. aged between 18 and 44 years;
  2. must nominate an occupation on relevant skilled occupation list;
  3. have positive skills assessment for your nominated occupation;
  4. score at least 65 marks on points table;
  5. submit Expression of Interest (EOI) under SkillSelect;
  6. meet health, character and English language requirements;
  7. be invited to apply for resident visa.

EOIs are pooled and highest scoring EOIs are selected from the pool every month. Selection points (pass marks) vary according to the number of annual places available and selection of EOIs in high demand occupations are pro-rated to ensure selections throughout the year. Check the Latest SkillSelect EOI Selection Result.

Skilled Independent (New Zealand Stream) Visa

This is a special visa granting permanent residence to New Zealand citizens who have been residing in Australia for at least 5 years on or before 19 February 2016. This visa is not points tested and there is no maximum age limit or minimum English language requirements or Skills Assessment required. To qualify, New Zealand citizens must meet the following requirements at the time of application:

  1. hold Special Category Visa;
  2. have taxable income at or above income threshold in 3 of the 5 years prior to application (currently AUD 53,900);
  3. meet health and character requirements.

Skilled Nominated Visa

This also is a permanent resident visa and in addition to meeting all of the requirements mentioned above for skilled independent visa, you must be nominated by Australian state or territory government agency. Selection points do not vary and EOI is automatically selected from the pool once state nomination is approved. Upon selection, Invitation To Apply (ITA) for resident visa is issued. States have their own occupation list (within the Federal List) and prescribed and criteria (such as higher English score, job offer, etc) for nomination. While this is a permanent resident visa you need to live in the nominating state or territory for at least 2 years.

Permanent Residence (Skilled Regional) Visa

This visa will be effective from 16 November 2022 and provides permanent residence to holders of Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa. To qualify, provisional visa holders must have lived in the designated area for at least three years, have total income at or above the specified income threshold for at least three years and complied with the conditions of their provisional visa.

Copyright © 2016 | Kaimah Immigration Consultants

This website includes images from Tourism New Zealand and Tourism Australia